Gordon Lightfoot: Two Tones At The Village Corner LP and Downloads

HOME Bio News CDs DVDs Songs Buy TLB Tour eList

My Amazon Shop  US  CA  UK  DE

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. I have a similar affiliate relationship with Barnes & Noble, Ticketmaster, StubHub & GoldStar.

Two Tones at the Village Corner

1. We Come Here To Sing
2. Fast Freight
3. The Fox
4. Dark As A Dungeon    MP3 clip from my record (full song below)
5. Sinnerman
6. This Is My Song
7. Kilgarry Mountain
8. Calypso Baby
9. Summer Love
10. Children Go Where I Send Thee
11. Copper Kettle
12. Lord I'm So Weary

In January, 1962 Gordon Lightfoot recorded a live album, performing with his high school friend Terry Whelan in a duo called the Two Tones. The album, called Two Tones At The Village Corner, was released on two record labels, Chateau and Canatel. Most of the songs are international folk, including standards such as The Fox, Copper Kettle and Kilgarry Mountain, but Lightfoot included one original (This Is My Song), and also a Merle Travis song called "Dark As A Dungeon"; that's his partner, Terry Whelan, introducing "Gordie". The original song is nothing like those he would be writing and performing a year and a half later, but his vocals on the Travis standard were very much in the "Lightfoot style", and his guitar playing illustrates "Travis style" fingerpicking, which he would go on to use in many of his songs over the next five decades.

Audio of "Dark as a Dungeon"

This was available as an MP3 album for a few years, but was withdrawn. Recently, I discovered that the songs (or most of them) are now available on several other MP3 albums, a few on each one. Like the Two Tones album, the recording sounds like "needle drop", meaning that it was recorded off a record, and not off the master tape. If you don't have these recordings, they are worth the price. You can find the songs here. Note that many tracks are on more than one album, so keep track of which songs you have already purchased (or put in your MP3 cart). Also, if there is no Buy Button on the song page, click through to the album it is on and it will probably be purchasable there. (Nothiing is easy).

In the UK, the album is available for purchase here.


IT infrastructure advisory and support services / Web sites / online stores by Valerie Magee of Visit my business web site    
Darien Cheese  Francos Wine Merchants  Harlan Estate & Bond Wines  Len Goldstein Corporate and Business Law Denver

Another Folk Artist: Judy Collins

Judy Collins 2022 CD
Spellbound #ad

Check here for Judy Collins tickets listed on

Ticketmaster.com (US)   Ticketmaster.ca (CA)
Check for Judy Collins resale tickets on StubHub. Prices may exceed face value.

Looking for CDs, vinyl or DVDs? Lightfoot & more?
Check my Lightfoot store.


More music and musicians: Steve Gillette's Songwriter Website, Rick Dougherty, Huxtable, Christensen & Hood, Chad Mitchell Trio (hosting, maillng list, store), David Rea, Robin Batteau (Hosting & Email List), Rob Carlson & Benefit Street (Hosting, Email List, Store), Modern Man (store only; Rob is also the author of The Palatine Ship), Steve Goodman Biography, The Brothers Four, Steve Gillette & Cindy Mangsen (Cat Tales (Cat Songs), Steve Gillette's The Man), Fourtold, Bob Warren, World Folk Music Association (hosting, store), Hamilton Camp, Bob Gibson - Yes I See, Michael Jerling, Michael Jerling's Fool's Hill Music, Mike Quick, Doug Irving, Cathy Cowette, Spare Parts (Waltz Sheet Music, Civil War Music, Tango Music, English Country Dance Music, Old Tango Music CD, store)

©1998-2022 by Valerie Magee  Privacy Policy /  Legal